Geeking out over ‘America’s Best Idea’

Six years in the making, Ken Burns’ latest documentary is set to premier on PBS on September 27. I am super excited.

Burns is a brilliant filmmaker, but it’s his subject that really has me geeking out this time: America’s national parks. National parks have more or less been the focus of several summer trips in my life and witnessing the majesty of the places they protect has laid the foundation for my personal paradigm. Seeing the Great Smoky Mountains as a kid, for example, inspired my first essays and short stories–that park made me want to become a writer. And, later, standing at the foot of the Grand Tetons, watching moose dine at dusk, I knew that environmental protection would be an important part of my life, and I hope it will be a part of my career.

For more on the documentary, visit the PBS site.

Leave a comment

Filed under Environment and Nature

Leave a Reply

