Notes on taking the 17 at 9:01

Today, I was late.

Today, I was late and that meant I had to catch the 9:01 with the annoying driver who is like her own version of Google Maps. She tells you what the next stop is (unfailingly. every stop.) and what buses you can connect to and where those buses go and what points of interest are within a six bock radius. The entire bus ride is a constant stream of her chatter, except that she says it in such a low voice that it seems like it’s only because she likes to hear herself talk. Either that or she’ll talk at the person in the front next to the door whether or not that person is even capable of speaking back.

This whole experience is particularly irritating because at this point in the morning all I really want to do is preserve a few moments of precious alone time with my book before I’m catapulted into the world of office and work and adult life. She also has this weird pause before announcing the next stop that is particularly grating. “And the next stop is….,” she’ll pause for too long and then by the time she says everything she feels she needs to say, it’s too late for anyone who might find this information at all useful to actually STOP.

It’s summer in Seattle and so downtown is a cacophony of construction so when we hit that her words are broke up by jackhammers and bulldozers and such. “And the next–third and–connect to the seven–and Jackson–to go–also the King County–office…” It’s probably not a huge deal to anyone else but it irks me so much that I’m already in a bad mood. And no one should be in a bad mood at 9:40 a.m. before the day has really even started.

P1010264

I did things entirely backwards this weekend and went hiking in the fog on Saturday and spent Sunday afternoon rummaging through the shelves at Elliott Bay Bookstore while it was sunny out. They have a charming cafe in the basement which, sadly,  I did not visit because they don’t allow you to bring unpurchased books down there. I thought you maybe could sneak by, but there’s an unpurchased book detector thinger that probably sounds an alarm if you try to pass. It’s kind of lame, but it also means you don’t have to check your bag at the counter when you walk in, so I think I’ll take the trade off.

I ended up buying Julie and Julia, because the movie looks amusing and I’m on this experiment-for-a-year-and-write-about-it thing. That’s what I’m attempting to do, after all, so it’s interesting to see how other people go about it. I’m not enjoying the book very much so far, but that’s probably premature because I read only the first two pages on my 40-minute commute due to the aforementioned bus driver. I wanted to buy Zeitoun, a new release by Dave Eggers about a family during Hurricane Katrina, since I’m writing about that, too, but it’s only in hardcover right now and who can afford hardcovers right now, really? Not me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Seattle

Leave a Reply

