Resolution, schmesolution

I resent this New Year’s Resolution business. It reminds me too much of high school religion class  when we were forced to sit in a circle and divulge any number of things.  This kind of abomination is what happens when you go to an all-girls Catholic high school. Usually these sharing sessions involved “special intentions,” prayers you wanted to say for someone or something. Some teenage catastrophe like losing your calculator. Or we’d have to share what we thought a certain song’s lyrics had to do with a certain Bible verse.

Pardon me while I vomit.

This is almost like a New Year’s Resolution. Ok, maybe not, but I’ve been thinking a lot about my Catholic school days and that was bugging me.

Anyway. I don’t like the idea of making a promise to myself just because it’s the time of year when everyone else is. Besides, I continuously make little resolutions to myself. Throughout the year I’ll set small goals or start new projects. For example, I’ve noticed since moving back home that I’ve stopped seeing things through the wide eyes of a tourist. In Seattle, there was so much to learn about and so many places to explore. Turns out, there are just as many opportunities here but when you’re already a local you tend to get settled in your routine. Your surroundings can become too familiar to inspire exploration. But I hope to change that for myself.

I think that by making these little resolutions all year, I miss out on the inherent flakiness of New Year’s resolutions. Like people who buy a gym membership in January and quit in March.

Those people suck.

I do enjoy the gentle hum of promise in the air this time of year. I don’t partake in much reflection (see above complaint) but I do enjoy this fresh-start feeling. A new year, a new decade, and hopefully new opportunities. Huzzah!

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Resolution, schmesolution

  1. Pingback: Kayaks and hair metal « See. Write. Live.

Leave a Reply

